Club América vs Deportivo Toluca F.C. Timeline: A Rivalry for the Ages

club américa vs deportivo toluca f.c. timeline

The history of Mexican football is rich and storied, with rivalries that span decades. One such rivalry is the ongoing battle between Club América and Deportivo Toluca F.C. This article delves into the timeline of this fierce competition, highlighting the key moments, victories, and clashes that have solidified their status as titans of Mexican football.

The Early Years: Laying the Foundation

The foundations of both clubs date back to the early 20th century. Club América was established in 1916 and Deportivo Toluca F.C. in 1917. Both teams began building their respective legacies from the very beginning, with América winning their first league title in 1925 and Toluca winning the Copa México in 1956.

The 1960s: Establishing Dominance

The 1960s saw both clubs rise to prominence in Mexican football. América claimed their second league title in the 1965-66 season, while Toluca secured back-to-back championships in 1966-67 and 1967-68. This marked the beginning of a rivalry that would only intensify over the years.

The 1980s: A Decade of Triumphs and Challenges

The 1980s were marked by highs and lows for both teams. América enjoyed a period of success, winning five league titles between 1983 and 1989. Toluca, on the other hand, faced a more challenging decade. Despite winning the 1980-81 league title, they suffered relegation to the second division in 1982. However, their resilience shone through as they returned to the top flight in 1985.

The 1990s: The Rivalry Intensifies

The 1990s saw the rivalry between Club América and Deportivo Toluca F.C. reach new heights. Both clubs enjoyed domestic success, with América securing league titles in 1992-93 and 2002, and Toluca dominating the latter half of the decade with titles in 1998, 1999, and 2000. This period also saw several heated matches between the two clubs, further fueling their rivalry.

The 21st Century: A Battle for Supremacy

As the new millennium dawned, the competition between Club América and Deportivo Toluca F.C. continued to escalate. Both teams amassed a series of league titles and other domestic and international honours. América claimed the CONCACAF Champions League title in 2006, 2014, and 2015, while Toluca won the 2003 and 2006 Copa México titles.

Memorable Matches

Throughout the years, there have been several iconic matches between Club América and Deportivo Toluca F.C. Some of the most memorable include:

  • The 2002 Apertura Final, where Toluca defeated América 5-4 on penalties after a thrilling 3-3 draw.
  • The 2013 Clausura quarter-finals, in which América overcame a 2-1 deficit to win 4-2 on aggregate.
  • The 2018 Clausura semifinals, where a dramatic late goal from América secured a 4-4 aggregate draw and passage to the final on away goals.


The rivalry between Club América and Deportivo Toluca F.C. is a testament to the passion and talent that Mexican football has to offer. As both clubs continue to challenge for supremacy, their intense battles on the pitch serve as a reminder of the rich history that has shaped them.

Discover 5 of the Top Sports Events in 2023 Explore NoSupreme

You may also like

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *